top of page

Are Great Concerts Ruined by Bad Fans? Yes, yes, they are.

By: Alexis Whitney

A concert atmosphere depends not only on the performer, but on the fans. The fans can make or break a concert.

For example, I went to see Hoodie Allen and Chiddy Bang at The Fillmore Charlotte, and it was not the best experience.The performers were great, but I couldn’t enjoy their performance because of the fans. I stood in the front, but the fans were rough, and at one point I was pushed to the ground and couldn’t get up, until someone finally saw what had happened and helped me. After that, I moved toward the back of the venue. When I looked around, other fans were screaming at each other, fighting to get to the front or panicking because of the other fans pushing and screaming.

A few weeks later, I went to see Colony House and Sir Sly, also at The Fillmore. The atmosphere was completely different, because it was a completely different fanbase. I stood in the front, and no one pushed to get in front of me. At one point, my friend left for a few minutes, and the people behind her asked me if she was coming back, and if she wasn’t, if they could stand where she had been standing. I couldn’t believe that just a few weeks ago I was at the same venue, being pushed and screamed at. During Colony House and Sir Sly, almost all of the fans were considerate, and there was no screaming or fighting. It was very relaxed, and I could tell everyone was there for the music, and was having fun. It was one of the best concerts I have attended.

Every concert I have been to has been unique and memorable in its own way, and the fans have a significant effect on a concert’s atmosphere and experience.

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating

Join our mailing list

Thanks for subscribing!

bottom of page