top of page

Behind the Scenes at the Hornets Game

By Sam Neumann

On February 6th, I enjoyed a unique opportunity. My father’s teaching colleague at South Mecklenburg High School, Jerry Duncan, does Public Relations for the Hornets as a side job and he was able to get my father and me a media pass to the Hornets game that night. He also gave us a backstage tour of Time Warner Cable Arena. As someone who would one day like to become a sports journalist, I found this experience surreal. 


The Hornets were facing their rivals, the Washington Wizards, that night. My tour included watching the media prepare for a game of this caliber. This process includes getting game notes and statistics, releasing the starting lineups to the public, and writing game previews. Next, we were taken down to the players’ entrance for the game and I was within walking distance of famous NBA players such as John Wall and Kris Humphries of the Washington Wizards. Then we ventured courtside to watch the players warm up for the game. I was allowed to converse with Hornets associate head coach Patrick Ewing about my pursuit of journalism and my experience that night. Eventually we made our way to our seats in a section reserved for the media.


Despite being down by 19 in the 2nd quarter, the Hornets went on to win the game, 108-104. Overall this was a great experience for me. I was able to get my journalistic feet wet and by going behind the scenes in the profession I wish to pursue.

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating

Join our mailing list

Thanks for subscribing!

bottom of page