top of page

Five Myths You Should Stop Believing About Introverts

Updated: Feb 1

By: Danielle Clark

Have you ever met a person who just didn’t talk? For example, that kid in class who when called on speaks very quietly and everyone has strain to hear him or her. When he or she does speak up, everyone gets quiet because they think, “Whoa, they’re talking. I thought they didn’t have any vocal chords.”

This person is probably an introvert. The term itself, made popular by Carl Jung, has genreated a few misconceptions. Here are the top five:


#1. Introverts don’t like to talk. That’s a lie. I am an introvert myself. It’s just that we don’t say anything unless we really have something to say. Most aren’t very fond of small talk. When I try to make small talk with someone, I think, “I’d rather shoot myself in the foot.”


#2. Introverts are shy. Wrong. Not all introverts are shy. We need a reason to talk to someone. Want to talk with one? Just start talking. We don’t bite, I swear.


#3. Introverts are rude. I sincerely hope that people do not think this. I just prefer that people are to the point and honest.


#4. Introverts don’t like people. Not going to lie, sometimes I’ll be walking to class, and I think to myself, “What is wrong with you?” But in general, introverts as a whole value the one or two really close friends that they have.


#5. Introverts can “fix” themselves and become extroverts. Introverts make up a good percentage of artists, musicians, directors, writers, scholars, etc. Google it. I’m telling you the truth. There is no need to tell someone who’s a little withdrawn that we need to speak up, or need to get out, or need to get more friends. No. No. No. It’s like you’re telling us that there is something fundamentally wrong with us. Let the extroverts be extroverts, and the introverts be caught up in our own little world, at least a couple times a day.

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating

Join our mailing list

Thanks for subscribing!

bottom of page