top of page

Siblings: Can't Live With 'Em, Can't Live Without ‘Em

By Harel Ziv

For those of you who have siblings, you’ve suffered innumerable arguments, agony when they don’t close the door to your room when they leave and frustration when they borrow something of yours without asking.


Needless to say, whether you have an older or younger sibling, there are times when they make you want to pull your hair out. On the other hand, there are also times when you want to squeeze them tight in a big bear hug. Sometimes we feel like we can’t live with our siblings, but then again, we can’t live without them.


When I was in preschool we told our teachers what we would wish for if we had one wish. Oddly enough, I wished for a little sister. Three years later, my wish came true. I think everyone who has a sibling knows that, at first, it takes some getting used to. Until my sister was born, I made my own rules and was, admittedly, the center of attention. After she was born, that attention was compromised and the rules I had previously established were changed. And they changed again when my second sister came along.

Despite all my preschool wishes, having siblings hasn’t always been the miracle of sisterhood I expected. There are times when my sisters annoy me so much it gets to the point where we aren’t on speaking terms. They will come in my room when I’m studying for an AP test or when I have friends over and refuse to leave. They find countless ways, it seems to me, to aggravate or harass me.


In the end, though, I’ve learned they just want to be loved. They love the attention, and I’m learning to be thankful that they value mine specifically. If you have a younger sibling, or even an older sibling, it’s important to spend time with him or her. It’s only now that I’m older and can more maturely watch our relationships grow and change that I realize how important it is to remain close. As time passes, you look back at your childhood and find that you’re not spending as much time with your sibling as you now wish you had.

I have been--or rather have tried to be--less bothered when they ask for my help or when they insist on “playing house.” I’ve found that it is those little moments that we remember as the most special: singing really loud while blaring “Stitches” by Shawn Mendes in my room, giving them outfit advice, and studying for exams together.


That is why it’s important to keep them close; it’s important to appreciate those cherishable moments. If you’re having a rough day, take the time to reach out to your brother or sister and ask them if they want to do something together. If you have a brother or sister, know that he or she can be one of your best friends. Instead of getting agitated when they do something to annoy you (whether directly or indirectly), change the situation and turn it into an opportunity to make a new memory.

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating

Join our mailing list

Thanks for subscribing!

bottom of page