top of page

Teacher’s Daughter

By: Kaylan Cox

I attended Albemarle Road Middle School in 7th and 8th grade. Mrs. Kiara Cox was a teacher there, but I always slipped up and called her Mom. She never complained so I just went with it, despite knowing that technically I shouldn’t.

Some kids hate the fact that their parent works at their school. However, the overall experience of being a teacher’s daughter was incredible for me. I was always on my best behavior. Being at school with my mom meant that I not only had to maintain my reputation, but hers as well. My mom is lovely woman and I didn’t want her judged by my actions. If I acted up, then it would seem as though I didn’t have the proper upbringing. Nevertheless, I always had fun with my mom on the way to and at school. We talked and laughed; it made me sad to think that in two years I would be leaving her to go to high school.

There are many pros and cons to be a teacher’s daughter. For example, I was known by a number of people just for being my mom’s daughter. In each grade level there were tons of kids and teachers that knew me, which made me “popular” in a sense. In addition, when the teachers had faculty parties my mom would always think about me and bring back food and candy.

The bad thing about going to school with my mom was that I was put on a higher pedestal than everyone else. If I got in trouble, there were more intense consequences than those everyone else faced. As a student with a parent at your school, there was always someone watching you. All the teachers knew me and knew my mom,so if they saw me do anything ridiculous, they knew exactly where to find her. This kept me from making many dumb mistakes.

In the end, going to school with my mom wasn’t all that bad. She was there for everything I did, like basketball, track, and even when I managed football. At the end, we became closer. She is my mom and my best friend…to a certain extent, that is.

Comentarios

Obtuvo 0 de 5 estrellas.
Aún no hay calificaciones

Agrega una calificación

Join our mailing list

Thanks for subscribing!

bottom of page